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PROPERTY AND CASUALTY RATE AND FORM FILING PROCEDURES: 
SERFF AND EFT MANDATORY FOR PROPERTY AND CASUALTY COMPANIES 

Nevada law requires that property and casualty insurers, title insurers, service contract 
providers, motor clubs and premium finance companies file certain rates, rules and forms with 
the Commissioner of Insurance ("Commissioner"). This bulletin outlines the submission and 
review procedures for these filings. 

SERFF FILING METHOD MANDATORY: 

Regulation R097-10 mandates that, effective December 31, 2010, all rate, rule and form 
filings for property and casualty lines of insurance must be submitted to the Division of 
Insurance ("Division") using the System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing ("SERFF"). 
Additionally, the Electronic Funds Transfer ("EFT") function within SERFF must be used when 
submitting the filing fee. The Division urges other entities not subject to this mandate to use the 
SERFF method of filing and EFT method of payment to help expedite and streamline the filing 
process. 

GROUP FILINGS: 

The Division allows multiple insurers in a group to submit rates, rules and forms for 
property and casualty insurance in a single filing made on behalf of the group. Group filings are 
subject to the following conditions: 

(NSPO Rev. 9-10) 

1. The insurer must identify the filing as being filed on behalf of the group and separately 
identify each company to which the filing applies. 

2. The insurer must submit a filing fee required for a rate, rule or form filing for the first 
company based on the fee structure as outlined below, and $25 for each additional 
company included in the filing. If the filing fee for the first company is less than $25, 
each additional company included in the filing must pay the same amount as the first 
company. 
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NOTE: Group filings are not allowed if the filing is a rate filing that requires actuarial data. 
In this case, each company must submit a separate filing with data specific to that company. 

FILING PROCEDURES: 

When submitting a rate, rule or form filing, companies must adhere to the following 
guidelines: 

SERFF Filings: 

1. Populate all fields in accordance with the state filing instructions contained in SERFF; do 
not bypass required fields. 

2. Submit a summary of the proposed changes in the filing. 

3. Attach searchable PDFs (not scanned documents). 

4. Include the correct filing fee amount: 

a. Submit the filing fee using EFT (required for property and casualty lines); or 

b. Attach a paper check to the Filing Information document (from PDF Pipeline) and 
mail to: 

State of Nevada 
Department of Business and Industry 
Division of Insurance 
1818 E. College Parkway, Suite 103 
Carson City, Nevada 89706 

5. Submit confidential information as separate attachments from public documents with a 
letter of explanation, stating why the information should be kept confidential, for the 
Commissioner's consideration and ruling. 

Paper Filings: 

Paper filings are only accepted for title underwriters and agencies, service contract 
providers, motor clubs and premium finance companies. The filings must include: 

1. The "Property & Casualty Transmittal Document" authored by the National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners (''NAIC"). This form can be found on the Division's Web 
site at http://doi.nv.gov. The "type of insurance" and "sub-type of insurance" must be 
accurately completed. 

2. A check in the appropriate amount pursuant to the fee structure outlined below (NRS 
680B.010(32) and NAC 690C.100). 

3. One original copy of the filing. 

4. A duplicate of the filing, or cover letter, for return to the company as proof of filing. 
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5. Confidential information must be clearly identified, separate from non-confidential 
material in the filing; and accompanied by a letter of explanation, stating why the 
information should be kept confidential, for the Commissioner's consideration and ruling. 

6. A stamped, self-addressed envelope large enough to hold the return documents. 

FILING FEES: 

• Policy or coverage forms: $25 per form 

• Endorsements, declaration pages, applications, etc.: $10 per form 

• Rates/rules: $25 per filing 

• Adoption/non-adoption/delay of a Rate Service Organization filing: 

o Rate/rule: $25 

o Forms: $10 

• Withdrawal of any number of rates/forms: $10 per filing 

New program: All forms, rates and rules are included for one $25 fee per company 

Group filing: The first company must pay a filing fee according to the number of forms 
included in the filing and/or for each rate or rule filing as stated above; each additional 
company on the filing must pay the same amount as the first company or $25, whichever is 
less. 

RETENTION REQUIREMENTS: 

The Division retains SERFF filings electronically through the NAIC. For paper filings, 
the Division maintains the stamped original letter of submission and other materials it considers 
necessary to justify its approval. Each company shall maintain copies of all correspondence, 
forms and data submitted to the Division in a rate, rule or form filing for a period of three years 
after the form has been withdrawn from use. 

Every insurer and rate service organization and every group, association or other 
organization of insurers which engages in joint underwriting or joint reinsurance must maintain 
all information necessary to support rating plans, underwriting rules and coverage forms. The 
maintenance of such records by a licensed rate service organization of which an insurer is a 
member or subscriber will satisfy compliance with this section. Such records must be available 
for inspection by the Commissioner with reasonable advance notice pursuant to NRS 679B.230. 

REQUIRED FILINGS: 

Pursuant to NRS 686B.030, NRS 686B.070, NRS 686B. l 10, and other statutes 
referenced below, the following filings are required (unless otherwise noted): 
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Property and Casualty Forms (Excluding Workers' Compensation): Policy coverage forms, 
endorsements, application forms, cancellation/non-renewal notices and declaration pages for all 
property and casualty insurance must be filed on a prior-approval basis. No forms are required 
to be filed for insurance for aviation (NAC 686B.530). 

Property and Casualty Rates (Excluding Workers' Compensation): Rates and rules must be 
filed on a prior-approval basis for insurance covering the liability of a practitioner licensed 
pursuant to Chapters 630 to 640, inclusive, of the NRS (medical professional liability insurance) 
and all personal lines of property and casualty insurance including, but not limited to: 

• Dwelling, up to 4 units 

• Motor vehicle insurance covering private passenger vehicles 

• Personal umbrella 

• Personal inland marine, including pet insurance 

• Vehicle mechanical breakdown 

• Insurance for home protection (regulated pursuant to NRS 690B.100 to NRS 
690B.180, inclusive) 

Rate filings must be approved or disapproved by the Commissioner no later than 60 days after 
they are determined to be complete; otherwise they are deemed approved. No rates or rules for 
commercial lines, other than medical professional liability, are required to be filed. 

Workers' Compensation Forms: Each form or modification to a form that the insurer intends 
to use must be filed with the Commissioner for approval. The insurer does not need to file a 
form that was filed by the advisory organization (National Council of Compensation Insurance 
or NCCI) and approved by the Commissioner. Workers' compensation forms must be approved 
or disapproved by the Commissioner no later than 60 days after they have been filed, otherwise 
they are deemed approved (NAC 616B.620). 

Workers' Compensation Rates: Insurers must file loss cost multipliers or final rates. No filing 
is necessary to adopt revised loss costs filed by the advisory organization if the company has 
already filed loss cost multipliers. Insurers must adopt the loss costs filed on their behalf by the 
advisory organization on the effective date established by the advisory organization. Any 
modification to the loss cost multipliers, schedule rating plans, deductible plans or other rating 
rules must be filed on a file-and-use basis at least 15 days before the rates become effective 
(NRS 686B.1775). 

Title Insurance: Rate schedules, schedules of charges and all forms, including preliminary 
reports of title, binders for insurance and commitments to insure, letters of indemnity, policies of 
insurance or guaranty, and terms of insurance which relate to the title to any interest in property, 
must be filed on a prior-approval basis. Title insurance filings must be approved or disapproved 
by the Commissioner no later than 30 days after they are filed, otherwise they are deemed 
approved (NRS 692A.120). Rate schedules must be filed with the Commissioner at least 30 days 
before the effective date and prominently displayed in each office of the title underwriter or 
agency (NRS 692A.l 40). 
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Service Contracts: All service contract forms must be filed on a prior-approval basis. These 
service contract filings must be approved or disapproved by the Commissioner no later than 60 
days after they are determined to be complete, otherwise they are deemed approved (NRS 
690C. l 60 and NAC 690C. l 00). 

Motor Clubs: All evidence of membership forms, statements of services and benefits, and 
service contracts must be filed on a prior approval basis. Any revision to these approved 
materials must be filed on a file-and-use basis on or before its effective date (NRS 696A.200). 

Premium Finance: All schedules of rates and charges must be filed with the Commissioner at 
least 60 days before the rates become effective. All finance agreement and notice forms must be 
filed on a prior-approval basis. These form filings must be approved or disapproved by the 
Commissioner no later than 60 days after they are filed, otherwise they are deemed approved 
(NRS 686A.385 and NRS 686A.390). 

Surety Insurance: No rates, rules or forms are required to be filed (NRS 686B.030). 

The procedures set forth in this bulletin replace Bulletin 09-007. Bulletin 09-007 is 
hereby withdrawn. 
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